

Army Cadet Unit Christ Church Grammar School



CCGSCU Prizes 2014

Introduction

Christ Church Grammar School Cadet Unit (CCGSCU) awards numerous prizes for individual and collective achievement in numerous aspects of training in the calendar year. The prizes will be awarded at the annual end of year Headmaster's Parade.

Aim

The aim of this administration instruction is to detail the prerequisite criteria for each prize, preserve the historical background and to record the winners for CCGSCU archives.

Prizes

The prizes, background, the criteria and winners for this year are as follows:

a. Alexander Todd Memorial Prize

- i. Criteria: Best CCGSCU cadet of the training year. Attendance and turnout at each parade, bivouac, range practice, annual camp. General bearing, qualities and capacity for leadership, skill-at-arms and performance on promotion courses.
- ii. Background: The prize was presented to the Christ Church Grammar School Senior Cadet Detachment in 1950.
- iii. Winner: CUO Dewammina Gammanpila Selected by his peers for his leadership and management skills. He ably performed as the Company Commander on Term 2 Field Ex and was Dux of the 2014 CUO course.

b. **Beresford Memorial Prize**

- i. Criteria: Best CCGSCU CUO of the training year.
- ii. Background: The Beresford Memorial Prize has been awarded since 1966. The prize was donated by the Beresford family in recognition of an old boy, who was killed in the Kokoda Campaign in WW2.
- iii. Winner: CUO Ben Nagappa, Commander 2 Platoon.

c. HMS Benbow Sash

- i. Criteria: Best SNCO in the training year.
- ii. Background: The HMS Benbow Sash was presented for the first time in 1962. The sash was given to the School by Major HMS Benbow, a former Staff Captain of 5 Cadet Brigade for many years, to be awarded to the best NCO in the unit. The sash has some history, as it was worn by Major Benbow's father, the colour sergeant of the 2nd Battalion Gordon Highlanders, before World War 1.
- iii. Winner: CDTWO2 Lachlan Webster, CSM.

d. **Commanding Officers Trophy**

i. Criteria: Best all round performance by an individual at the rank of CDT in the training year. Enthusiasm, attendance and community participation are used to recognise the stand out first year cadet.

- ii. Background: This award was first introduced in 2002 to recognise the achievements and leadership potential of first year cadets.
- iii. Winner: CDT Adam Butler

e. **Bob Peterson RFD Award**

- i. Criteria: Best junior leader of the training year. The winner must be of the rank CDTCPL or CDTLCPL.
- ii. Background: COL Bob Peterson RFD was a long-standing member of the CCGS community. A career Reservist, his biggest achievement was being appointed CO of 11/28 Bn RWAR. In 1998 he assumed command of the CCGSCU. He was later promoted to the rank of Colonel in the Cadet organisation. From 2008 he continued to assist the cadets at CCGSCU, before retiring in December 2013.
- iii. Winner: CDTCPL Cameron Criddle, Section commander 13A.

f. Mick O'Sullivan OAM MM Trophy

- i. Criteria: Demonstrating determination and commitment in the training year.
- ii. Background: Warrant Officer Class One Michael O'Sullivan OAM MM fulfilled the role of Co-ordinator of Army Cadets at CCGS from 1987 to 2013. Mick served 45 years with the Australian Army 20 years in the regular Army and 25 years in the Army Reserve. He won the Military Medal for gallantry in Vietnam in 1971 and was awarded the OAM in the 2012 Australia Day Honours for service to youth through the WA Cadet Brigade, in particular to CCGSCU.

 The Michael O'Sullivan OAM MM Trophy being presented has been awarded since 2000 and was donated by the West family.
- iii. Winner: CDTCPL Saptahrshi Seal

g. Best First Aid Section

- i. Criteria: Best section to have performed in the First Aid Competition, including care of the casualty, sending a CASEVAC request and command and control of the situation. The award is decided on the Term 3 Field Exercise.
- ii. Winner: 2 Platoon, Charlie Section, The award will be collected by the section commander, CDTSGT Monte Nathan.

h. **The Norrie Cup**

- i. Criteria: Best Rifle Shot of the training year, which is decided at the scored shoot on Term 3 Field Exercise.
- ii. Background: The Norrie Cup was established in 1947 and is hotly contested by CCGS cadets.
- iii. Winner: CUO Ben Nagappa with a 20 round grouping of 122mm.

i. Best Rifle Shooting Section

- i. Criteria: Best combined section shooting score of the training year, which is decided on the scored shoot on Term 3 Field Exercise.
- ii. Background: Presented to CCGS by BRIG TJ Nolan AM in 1993. Unlike the trophy, which is a .303 rifle, today's cadets shoot using the F88 Austeyr 5.56mm rifle.
- iii. Winner: 3 PL, Bravo Section. The award will be collected by the section commander, CDTCPL Gareth Shanthikumar.

j. Best Section

- i. Criteria: Awarded to the best performing section in the training year.
- ii. Winner: 2 PL, Alpha Section. The award will be collected by the section commander, CDTCPL William Burt.

k. **Best Platoon**

- i. Criteria: Awarded to the best performing platoon in the training year.
- ii. Background: Collective high performance in skill at arms activities, commitment to external activities, dress and bearing and performance on field exercises.
- iii. Winner: 2 PL, The award will be collected by the Platoon Commander, CUO Ben Nagappa.

I. Legacy Trophy

- i. Criteria: The individual(s) who raises the most money on Legacy Day.
- ii. Background: This trophy has been presented by Fremantle Legacy since 1996 in recognition of the CCGSCU's fundraising efforts. Today the Legacy Trophy is being presented by old boy and former CCGSCU member Geoff Leech and Steve Grady, from Fremantle Legacy.
- iii. Winner: CDT Harrison Shearn raised a total of \$574

m. **CUO Plaques:**

- i. Criteria: Awarded to CUOs in recognition of their time, efforts and commitment over their three-year cadet career.
- ii. Awarded to: CUOs Dewammina Gammanpila, Jonathan Knight, Ben Nagappa and Brandon Afiat.

Conclusion

Presentation of awards recognises individual and collective achievement in the unit. It builds morale, esprit de corps and serves as a motivator to the cadets. The above cadets are to be congratulated for their efforts.

DA NurseCaptain
Co-ordinator of Army Cadets

C Scott
Captain (AAC)
Officer Commanding