The School is governed by a council of twelve who meet monthly in full council and focus on strategic direction, policy making and review.

The nominations for council positions are as follows:

  • one nomination each by the Archbishop and the Parents’ Association
  • two nominations each by the Diocesan Council and the council itself
  • three nominations each by the Anglican Synod of Perth and the Old Boys’ Association

Each year the tenures of at least three members expire. Members are eligible for nomination and renomination for up to three consecutive terms.

The Council Charter can be found here.

Council members


The Most Reverend Kay Goldsworthy AO
Archbishop of Perth and Metropolitan of the Province of Western Australia

Professor Paul Johnson


Paul Johnson served as Vice-Chancellor of the University of Western Australia for five years from January 2012, after serving as Vice-Chancellor of La Trobe University in Victoria from 2007. In 2017 he was appointed Director of the Forest Research Foundation at the University of Western Australia and Warden of Forest Hall. Paul is a member of the Australian Research Council. Paul has been a director of UniSuper and has served on a number of professional councils, learned societies and professional bodies in the United Kingdom.

Paul is an Expert Adviser on Pension Reform and the Economics of Demographic Change to the World Bank, the United Nations Research Institute for Social Development, the British Government and the House of Lords.

Paul holds a Doctorate of Philosophy from the University of Oxford.

Dr Caroline Goossens

Deputy Chair

Caroline is an Australian trained Child Psychiatrist who has worked in varied settings in Perth, Sydney and France. Caroline brings clinical expertise and experience in health governance and leadership, service innovation and redesign, and a commitment to improving the socio-emotional wellbeing and mental health of all children and adolescents.

Caroline is the former Chair of The Faculty of Child Psychiatry (WA) and Director of Clinical Services for Child and Adolescent Mental Health Service in Perth. She returned with her husband and three children to Perth in 2005. Caroline’s two sons have enjoyed Christ Church with the eldest graduating in 2013.

Caroline holds a Bachelor of Medicine and Bachelor of Surgery from the University of Western Australia and a Fellowship from the Royal Australian and New Zealand College of Psychiatrists. She is a graduate of the Australian Institute of Company Directors.

Caroline has had two boys graduate from the School.

Mr Haaron Bokhari

Haaron Bokhari is a senior lawyer who has worked in both in-house and private practice for close to 20 years.

After almost eight years working at Freehills as a banking and finance lawyer, Haaron co-founded new law business Balance Legal (now known as Lawyers on Demand). Through his role with Lawyers on Demand he has worked in various legal positions at Chevron, Woodside, Macmahon, Duro Felguera and Rio Tinto, and most recently he managed the Hong Kong office of the Lawyers on Demand business.

After graduating from Christ Church, Haaron served as a member and secretary of the Old Boys’ Association (OBA) and represented the OBA at various school events. He has also coached sport at the School.

Haaron holds a Bachelor of Law and Bachelor of Commerce (Banking & Finance majors) from Murdoch University and a Diploma of Applied Corporate Governance from the Governance Institute of Australia.

He lives in Claremont with his wife and young son.

Mr Ben Lisle

Ben Lisle is the Founding and Managing Director of Hesperia, Western Australia’s largest locally-owned private industrial land developer.

Ben has extensive experience in all facets of property development including due diligence and acquisition structuring, planning and environmental approvals, development management and financing of commercial and industrial property.

Ben was previously a Director and founder for Linc Property, a Director and co-founder of Azure Capital and a Director of Poynton and Partners. His work included management of numerous significant capital raisings and IPOs, the structuring and execution of large project finance packages, the management of mergers and acquisitions and provision of strategic corporate advisory services.

Ben has involvement in and ongoing commitments with a range of not for profit organisations including Youth Focus and the Ride for Youth, the Black Swan State Theatre, the Noongar Charitable Trust and the SAS Resources Fund.

Ben holds a degree in Mechanical Engineering from the University of Western Australia, a Postgraduate Diploma in Applied Finance and Investment from the Financial Services Institute of Australia and has completed the Management Development program at Harvard Business School.

He has a son at Christ Church Grammar School and daughter at Methodist Ladies’ College.

Mr John Paul Olivier

John Paul Olivier is Group Manager Strategy at Fortescue Metals Group, responsible for developing and implementing Fortescue’s growth strategy with the Board and Executive Team.

Prior to joining Fortescue, John Paul worked as a management consultant for the Boston Consulting Group where he led consulting engagements for clients in strategy and operations improvement across multiple industries. He also practiced as a transactional lawyer in the UK and Australia.

John Paul holds a Masters of Business Administration (Dean’s List) from the University of Cambridge, a Bachelor of Laws (First Class Honours) and a Bachelor of Science (Chemistry) from the University of Western Australia.

John Paul is married with three children.

Mr Chris Stavrianou

Chris Stavrianou is Managing Partner of Poynton Stavrianou, an independent corporate advisor based in Western Australia.

Chris was a senior executive in the Australian Government where he advised the Foreign Investment Review Board and established and led the Australian Treasury’s team in WA.

Chris has more than 10 years of global mergers and acquisitions experience from Macquarie Capital and UBS, where he advised on over US$50bn of completed transactions across a range of industries.

Chris is a member of the board of the Foundation of Christ Church Grammar School and is an Adjunct Professor at the Business School of the University of Western Australia. Chris holds an MBA (INSEAD), MPA (Harvard Kennedy School), a BSc (University of Western Australia), and was a fellow at Mossavar Rahmani Center for Business and Government at Harvard University.

Chris is married with two children.

Mr Sam Vandongen SC

Sam is a barrister who has chambers at Francis Burt Chambers, in Perth.

After graduating from Christ Church Grammar School in 1986, and the University of Western Australia in 1991, Sam worked for a short period of time in commercial litigation and in government, before he joined the Office of the Director of Public Prosecutions for Western Australia. After spending about 12 years working as a prosecutor in both Western Australia and New South Wales, he then moved to the independent bar in 2008, where he has been practising ever since.

He was recently a member of the Old Boys’ Association Committee. He also currently acts as the President of the Professional Standards Board for the Anglican Diocese of Perth, Bunbury, and North West Australia, and is a member of the Royal Perth Hospital Medical Research Foundation Audit and Risk Committee.

Sam holds a Bachelor of Laws degree from the University of Western Australia, and was appointed Senior Counsel in 2010.

Sam is married with three children. Until recently, Sam’s two sons were students at Christ Church Grammar School.

Ex-Officio Member of Council

Principal, Mr Alan Jones

Secretary to Council

Director of Finance, Mr John Price