Published on: 16 March 2023

Last week students from across the School competed in the pool during the JPSSA and PSA Inters Swimming Carnivals.

Our Preparatory School swimming team took home the top spot at the 2023 JPSSA Swimming Carnival with the largest squad we have ever taken to the competition. All six relays had 24 different swimmers in them, which greatly adds to the School’s swimming depth. Oliver Swann and Xander Bennett accepted the shield as Captain Vice-Captain of the squad. Theo Porter (Year 5) set a new JPSSA Freestyle record of 31.75 seconds, eclipsing a time of 32.15 seconds set in 2011.

After a night of fantastic swimming in the HBF Stadium pool our Senior School swimming team narrowly lost to Scotch who took out first place in the PSA Inters Swimming Carnival.

Congratulations to the following award recipients, our swimmers who competed, and all those who showed up to support their peers:

Under 13
Best team man
Ethan Koekemoer

Best PSA Swim on the Night
Quinn Bewsher – 50m Backstroke 32.89

Under 14
Best Team Man
Charlie van der Struyf

Best PSA Swim on the Night
Sam Reynolds – 50m Butterfly 29.71

Under 15
Best Team Man
Christian McGlew

Best PSA Swim on the Night
Lawson Kirby – 50m Backstroke 32.65

Under 16
Best Team Man
Zenith Shakibaie

Best PSA Swim on the Night
Jackson Anderson – 100m Freestyle 52.76 PSA RECORD

Under 17
Best Team Man
Jakob Akhlil

Best PSA Swim on the Night
Sam Hicks – 50m Backstroke 27.60 SCHOOL RECORD

Best Team Man
Oscar Lorbeer

Best PSA Swim on the Night
Matt Tan – 50m Butterfly 28.49

Inspiration Award – (Awarded by the Leadership group and Senior Swimmers)
Sam Hicks – the selfless attitude to put the team first and swim up an age group

Van Hazel Team Trophy
This cup is awarded to the best Christ Church Relay Team on the night of the PSA Inters. It was presented to Christ Church Grammar School by the Van Hazel Family in 1996.
Under 15 Division 1 Freestyle Relay Team
Christian McGlew
Ben MacGregor
Phoenix Shakibaie
Lachlan Sheldrick
Time of 1.51.00 closest to PSA record of 1.50.26

Jack Mah Cup
This cup is awarded to the best First Division Competitor in Freestyle, Backstroke and Butterfly at the PSA Inters. It was first presented to Christ Church Grammar School in 1983.
Jackson Anderson
1st Freestyle, 1st Backstroke and 1st Butterfly

McCarthy Family Trophy
This cup is awarded to the most improved swimmer over the PSA season it was first presented in 2006.
Harrison Surtees – a 3.48 second improvement on his 50m freestyle time 28.13

A special thanks to our incredible swimming staff for all their tireless work behind the scenes prior to, during and after these events.