Published on: 1 November 2018

A magnificent win was celebrated this morning as the Senior School recognised the achievements of five top performers at the recent Junior Young Physicists’ (JYPT) Tournament held in Hobart, Tasmania.

Year 10 Physics students Jason Lu, Kartikeya Kaushal, Declan Barrett, Adam Robbins and Lucas Kailis proudly showcased the trophy on stage and were congratulated by Principal Alan Jones on their achievement.

The tournament involved the boys answering a series of questions related to their understandings, processes and findings to five different physics problems; soap bubbles, falling dominoes, laser liquid light guide, torn sail and a gaussian canon.

“Christ Church won the final in a very close contest with The Hutchins School, previous tournament champions,” says Physics Teacher and tour coordinator, Ms Caitlin Owen.

“Despite this being our first year in the tournament, the boys really pulled together and made big improvements on their performance each progressive round. A fantastic achievement that the boys should be proud of.”

“In the two terms leading up, the boys were dedicated in their training, completing multiple sessions per week including during after school and lunch times.”

“The boys also made really good friends with students from The Hutchins School and other schools while at the tournament.”

Each year, the JYPT presents an exciting opportunity for teams of enthusiastic Science students to come together, participate in Physics Fights and collaborate with fellow student scientists from across the Asia Pacific Region.