Published on: 24 October 2014

The Christ Church Army Cadet Unit concluded its year of service with the annual Headmaster’s Parade and Dining-In Night last Friday. Cadets were recognised for collective and individual successes, as Year 12 cadets were farewelled.

Co-ordinator of Army Cadets Duane Nurse said CUO Dewammina Gammanpila did an exemplary job as parade commander and the boys paraded exceptionally well.

Amongst the many coveted awards were the Alexander Todd Memorial Prize for best cadet awarded to CUO Gammanpila (Year 12); the Norrie Cup for best rifle shot awarded to CUO Ben Nagappa (Year 12); the HMS Benbow Sash for best Senior NCO awarded to CDTWO2 Lachlan Webster (Year 12); and the Beresford Memorial Prize for best CUO also to CUO Nagappa.

For the full list of awards and winners, click here.

Former CCGSCU member Geoff Leach (Class of 1963) and Steve Grady, representatives from Fremantle Legacy, recognised the unit’s generous fundraising over the past 18 years of more than $50,000. They also presented this year’s Legacy Trophy to CDT Harrison Shearn (Year 10), who raised $574 for Legatees.

In the evening, invited Army guests and departing Year 12 cadets were acknowledged at the annual Dining-in Night in Sandover Dining Hall. The dinner, conducted in accordance with Army traditions of protocol for a regimental dinner, is black tie and for those serving members, mess dress with medals.

Brigadier Stephen Coggin CSC was the principle guest, who spoke of the value of courage, initiative, teamwork and respect – the core values of Cadets and Army. He also presented CUO Nagappa with an ADF Long Tan Leadership Award.

Parents, ADF members, Christ Church and cadet staff attended, along with the Year 12s and the incoming 2015 leadership group. “Good time had by all,” Capt Nurse said.