Published on: 28 November 2014

Christ Church students claimed an outstanding 10 per cent of the awards in this year’s Australian Informatics Olympiad (AIO) as well as seven of 25 invitations to the National Informatics Summer School in January 2015.

Assistant Director of Studies Matthew Kameron said boys, from Years 8 to 12, had been busily preparing for the AIO throughout the year. The AIO, sat in September, is a three-hour programming competition where participants are given three problems to solve.

Mr Kameron said the UNSW’s computer science course (successfully completed by six Year 10 students at Christ Church) and Computing ProgComp, were both part of training to prepare boys for the AIO.

Christ Church boys received the following awards:

Bronze medals: Ben Anderson (Year 10), Joseph Brough (Year 11), Max Evans (Year 11), William Hu (Year 8), Ananthu Koloth (Year 10), Hector Morlet (Year 10), Nicholas O’Callaghan (Year 11), Alexander Shearer (Year 9), Elliott Smith (Year 12).

Silver medals (and an invitation to the 2015 National Informatics Summer School):

• Jason Chu (Year 10)

• Tom Copcutt (Year 10)

• Lumina Gajanayake (Year 9)

• Thomas Waring (Year 10)

• Albert Smith (Year 8)

Gold medals (and receiving an invitation to the 2015 National Informatics Summer School):

• Devin He (Year 10)

• Samuel Thompson (Year 11)